Reloading EverythingSnyders JerkyLee PrecisionRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataInline FabricationWideners
Titan Reloading RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pan lube problem

Boolit Grand Master

Pan lube problem

I'm trying pan lubing. It's a Lee .30 180gr gas check bullet (WW, water hardered). Hornady checks. Lar45 white lube (great guy to deal with).
    I heat the lube in a double boiler. Set the bullets in the lube. Let it cool on the boiler untill I can move the pan without the bullets falling over. Let it cool untill the lube pulls from the pan. Push the bullets out from top to bottom.
    Problem I'm having is most of the bullets come out without lube in the bottom lube groove. Rest of the grooves are fine. Good ones come out great.
    Any suggestions?????

Boolit Buddy
    I'm a real rookie at this game, so everyone please feel free to tell me how wrong I am, but I think the bullets aren't getting hot enough. I leave mine in the molten lube until they get too hot for me to touch; like I say I'm a true rookie so I could very easily be all wet.

-SSG Klaus

I think you are onto something "rookie"....

Dennis

Boolit Buddy
    Bucks-don't tell me I actually had a thought that was correct; ... Whoo Hoo! I just may get the hang of this stuff, eventually. Thanks brother

-SSG Klaus

Boolit Grand Master

Seems hot enough

The lube seems hot enough. It's still on the boiler when I put the bullets in. It takes about 10 to 15 minutes untill it cools enough so I can move it off the boiler.
    Now that I have a cake with holes in it I'll stick bullets in the holes and heat everything on the boiler. This should make the bullets as hot as the lube.

Boolit Buddy