WidenersRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Titan ReloadingInline FabricationLoad DataRepackbox
Snyders Jerky Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whats wrong?

Boolit Mold

Whats wrong?

I have just mesured some boolits that i cast a few nights ago and was a little bumed at what they mesured, they were from two different casting sessions, one at home and one at work.They were cast from a Lee TL401-175 SWC, two banger,I chose this one because I did not want to have to size them. I'm not sure that I had the mold and melt as hot as was needed, but when they started to look good thats were I stoped heating the melt. They were water droped. I guess I was expecting some variation in them but not this bad, so I was thinking that the problem has got to be ME not the equipment. I don't mind remelting and casting again if that is what it takes. BTW this is my first time casting boolits. Any help with this would be wonderful. Thanks, Troy
    .398-.406
    .400-.402
    .398-.408
    .398-.404
    .402-.407
    .399-.402
    .398-.409
    .399-.406
    .400-.402
    .399-.402
    .399-.401
    .400-.401

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by troy7769 View Post
    I have just mesured some boolits that i cast a few nights ago and was a little bumed at what they mesured, they were from two different casting sessions, one at home and one at work.They were cast from a Lee TL401-175 SWC, two banger,I chose this one because I did not want to have to size them. I'm not sure that I had the mold and melt as hot as was needed, but when they started to look good thats were I stoped heating the melt. They were water droped. I guess I was expecting some variation in them but not this bad, so I was thinking that the problem has got to be ME not the equipment. I don't mind remelting and casting again if that is what it takes. BTW this is my first time casting boolits. Any help with this would be wonderful. Thanks, Troy
    .398-.406
    .400-.402
    .398-.408