RotoMetals2Reloading EverythingSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
WidenersRepackboxLoad DataTitan Reloading
Lee Precision Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lead Alloy Hardness Tester

Lead Alloy Hardness Tester

What's the consensus on hardness testers for alloys. I know there are different types for Brinnell and relative hardness but have never researched them. I have been casting for almost 40 years and usually used wheelweights, but as I mellow I'm thinking of mixing my own alloys to a specific BHN. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Maj Dad
    Maj, USAF (ret)
    Member, SCV
    Life Member VFW, DAV, TSRA and MOAA
    Benefactor Member, NRA

"A good plan, violently executed today, is better than a perfect plan executed next week."
    - Gen George S. Patton

Boolit Grand Master In Remembrance
    Regards
    John

Boolit Grand Master

Cabinetree.

Easiest and most readily repeatable hardness tester.IMHO
    Old enough to know better, young enough to do it anyway!

Men who don't understand women fall into two categories: bachelors and husbands!

+1 on the Cabinetree. I had a Saeco and it did not perform well. I tested it against the Cabinetree and found it lacking in accuracy and consistency. I wound up putting the Saeco on fleabay. Go ahead and spring for the upgraded model that sells for $135 because it does more than just test hardness.

Moderator Emeritus
    Cabine Tree for me.

Gussy is one of us too.

http://www.castingstuff.com/cabinetr...ad_testers.htm

For fine firearms and shooting requisites visit my Web Site by clicking the link below:

Pukka Bundhooks

Banned

like was said dont waste your money. The cabintree unit is relitively inexpesive especially considering the quality of the unit and is much easier to use and get consistant readings from.

In Remebrance