WidenersReloading EverythingSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
Load Data Repackbox
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: wheel wieghts and problems / looking for feed back

wheel wieghts and problems / looking for feed back

Hi, I'm new to this site, it was referenced by a shooter over on Accruateloading.com.
    I posted this over there and thought I might get more feed back if I spread it around a little.
    Thanks for taking the time to read this.
    Rusty

Observations and musings about wheel weights.

First I’m new at using wheel weights for bullets. I have been using pure lead for round balls and Minies for 20 years. Started casting my own .58’s at something like 12. And then started using 20:1 lead: tin for .45-70 405HB’s. I always had known alloys to start with and my bullets almost always came out great.

I have always purchased my hard alloy bullets for my center fire pistols and rifles. The prices were reasonable and quality was great for run of the mill calibers.
    Then I started to play with big slugs, 420-grain .45-70 and oddball dia. slugs like .382 for a .38-55 and either the prices were too high or the size unobtainable.
    So I started to play with wheel weights and wouldn’t you know it I killed my first batch of alloy with a zinc weight (or two). I also have some other theories, as yet untested, about what went wrong with my first foray into using wheel weights for cast bullets. After fighting with poor mold fill and bullet weights that varied by as much as 10 grains, I figured out part of the problem, Zinc. But I think there are other metals too that are in wheel weights that doomed my first attempt. I took all my pre-cast ingots, about 100 pounds and tossed them in the bottom of the cabinet my bench grinder is on. At least they can do one thing right, deaden vibration in my grinding bench.