Inline FabricationTitan ReloadingWidenersLee Precision
Load DataRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingSnyders Jerky
Repackbox MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: 7mm & cast bullets

Boolit Master

Question 7mm & cast bullets

HI,
    I was wondering if any of the group has done much w/ the 7mm/06 or if anyone has done much w/ the 7mm mag.

Super Moderator

...........The 280 Rem, 7mm Express or 7mm-06 is one fine cartridge. I think it's supposed to be in the top 5 cartridges that custom rifles and re-barrel jobs is done in.

But to the point, I have no experience in loading cast in either 7mm you asked about . I will hazard a guess that in the 280 Rem you could use a mid-range type load intended for the 7x57 as a start point. Due to the case volumn and bullet diameter ie: expansion ratio, even very slow powders like surp WC872 and 860 can generate substantial velocities.

A casefull of WC872 in the 7x57 will propel the RCBS 7mm-168 to 2400+ fps in both my M98/08 Brazilian and M97 Rem RB with 29" bbls. Drop the charge to 42.0grs and you get 1750 fps.

Ditto in the 6.5x55 Swede. A casefull of WC872 will send the 140gr Hornady SP out of a 24" bbl at 2700 fps. Under a 150gr cast slug 32-34grs is 1550 to 1600 fps.

Both the previously mentioned cartridges have done well with charges of 10-12grs of Unique also. Due to the even larger capacity of the parent 30-06 case I'd think that I might start out with the same fast powder charges and work up seeing what happens.

If you were to use a mid to slow type powder I'd suggest a solid filler from the start, to make them think they were in a full case deal, but I don't know your feelings on the use of fillers. Hopefully someone who really has reloaded cast in either round will supply some useable data.

.................Buckshot
    Father Grand Caster watches over you my brother. Go now and pour yourself a hot one. May the Sacred Silver Stream be with you always