Load DataReloading EverythingSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationRepackboxWidenersTitan Reloading
Lee Precision MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: emf 45-70 ammo

emf 45-70 ammo

So Im guessing this has been asked before but since Im new to these kind of guns Im going to just ask.I just traded for an EMF sharps 45-70.Ive looked in several reloading manuals and I see about 3 different pressure levels.Some guys say you can shoot factory smokeless ammo in it and others say to only shoot black.Im guessing I should only load to not exceed 25000 cup but what about factory loads.Standard ammo?Leverevolution ammo?How high of a pressure can these things take and where is safe?....I have handloaded for years but I have never fooled with this sort of thing so any advice would be welcomed...Thanks Robin

Personally, I'd stick with Level 1 loads for an eyetalian rifle. Very soft steel compared to other brands. All commercial (rem, win, fed) 45-70 loads are Level 1 loads. Of course, don't use any of the custom, hot stuff, which is Level 2+.

You will probably have a more satisfying experience loading with Holy Black and soft lead. But, commercial and Level 1 handloads will work too.
    That I could be wrong is an eventuality that has not escaped me. I just painted the pictures as I saw them. I do not know how to do anything else. (Saint Elmer, 1955)

They are factory proofed for commercial smokeless loads, so keep it under 28,000CUP....preferably under 21000 with that buttplate

Black Powder 100%

Livingston, La. 20 miles east of Baton Rouge, La.