MidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingRepackbox
Snyders JerkyInline FabricationLoad DataLee Precision
Titan Reloading Wideners

Thread: copper tubing

Boolit Mold

Talking copper tubing

Hello to all,

I am new to the forum and scoping things out. I am a long time bullet swager. I am trying to fing a source for 5/16 copper tubing type L for .308 jackets in straight sticks lengths. Please help. Thanks folks
    Mike

Boolit Master
    Mike if you get a chance sometime I would be interested in knowing how you do the 308's

Im a soon to be beginner/swager and hoping to try some 308's

I havent looked myself but have you tried Mcmaster Carr for the tubing??

Boolit Mold
    Dear ANeat

I haven't tried Mcmaster-Carr yet. Hmm, but what the heck. I'll check it out. What would you like to know about .308 swaging it is fairly easy. The hardest part is getting started for the first time.

Boolit Master
    Here is one place... dont know if its a good price or not.

http://plumbing.hardwarestore.com/52...ng-632354.aspx

Boolit Mold
    ANeat

the soft copper will do it sort of. But you are much better off if you use staight tubing in stick of 10 or 20 feet in length and cut it to length with a small chop saw for the job. It should also be type L for the best result that has to do with the wall thickness ( 0.035). When use that and solder the core to the jacket. ( very cool) and then load it in a 300 Win mag. Watch out

Mike

Boolit Bub
    You might try a local HVAC company they use copper in odd sizes for line sets for heat pumps and refridgeration lines.

Boolit Mold
    Just a thought, perhaps you could freeze the more common 1/4" copper tubing into 5/16.. It happens naturally up here every winter if there is water in the tubing.

Boolit Buddy
    i get all my copper tubing from mcmaster carr they carry all the sizes you need for bullet swaging.
    i never been able to find the right size in hardware stores or pumbling stores.