WidenersLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee Precision
RepackboxSnyders JerkyTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
Reloading Everything Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: woodstove vs pellet stove again

Boolit Master

woodstove vs pellet stove again

I'm pretty sure I talked about this subject before, but...
    I've been heating with a woodstove for 40 years. Green cordwood was around $70 back then. Now, it's at least $300 per cord (up to $450) and most places won't deliver less than 4 cords at a time without a delivery fee. I don't have the room for 4 cords at a time. The firewood guy that I've used for years just moved to Costa Rica, so I'm scrambling for next year's firewood.
    Once again, the talk has turned to pellet stoves. It'll be between $6,000 to $8,000 to get started with a new Harmon, and there might be a venting issue with the high outside chimney that I have for the woodstove. But, it is tempting.
    Any thoughts from pellet stove, woodstove owners?

Been heating with wood for some 20 years now. Green was $280 last year. No idea what it will be this year.
    We have 2 stoves - one small Jotul in my spousal unit's massage room and one big Jotul to heat the 1600 sf house.
    The small stove burns 2 cords of 13" wood, the big one does 6-7 cords of 18" a season.
    All delivered by the wood dealer over a month or so and stacked (by me) in the spring.
    So...i would say we are hard core wood burners.
    We looked at pellet stoves when we did the massage practice room. We decided against them for the following reasons:
    1) You are dependent on a manufacturing company for the pellets
    2) The pellet stoves have an electric auger to feed the stove. Another part to break and replace.
    3) Power outages can stop your pellet feeder device. Even though we have a generator, if something happened to that, you are out of luck.
    The side benefit of wood is that I am 75 and actually enjoy the exercise. It keeps me moving and flexible.