Reloading EverythingRepackboxTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionInline FabricationWideners
RotoMetals2 Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How Good is Good Enough?

How Good is Good Enough?

Even though I've been casting for a long time on the calendar, I actually haven't done all that much of it. I'm still learning how to get good results from my various molds, aluminum, brass, and iron. So far I've only ever cast with wheelweights. I think I get pretty good results, though I still have room for improvement.

One thing I keep forgetting to ask here, and this is me finally remembering to do so, is how critical is it for the tops of the lube grooves to be perfect? Some times I reject half of my bullets because one edge is just a little bit rounded. The bases are good, and there are no wrinkles, but sometimes I just can't get everything to come together perfectly and there is a slight but noticeable roundness, usually only on the front band, and usually only on one side of the mold. I simply reject any like this but always wonder if I'm being a bit too picky.

I'm not talking about big problems like bad bases, wrinkles, or hardly formed grooves, just a very slight problem on a small portion.

Boolit Master
    If you add 1-2% tin that will probably go away.

Quote Originally Posted by jsizemore View Post
    If you add 1-2% tin that will probably go away.
    That is next on my things to try. I hope @Springfield still has pewter to sell when I get back into things again before too long.

Boolit Master
    Depends on how accurate you want to be.

If you are chasing sub-MOA at longer ranges you are probably on the right track. Or if you want bench rest competition size groups at 100yd.

The longer the range and higher the vel the more difference it will make.