Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
Titan ReloadingWidenersInline FabricationLoad Data
Repackbox Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Can't Find an Answer to Lee 9mm Mold

Boolit Mold

Can't Find an Answer to Lee 9mm Mold

I'm sure the answer to my basic question is buried in a thread somewhere but the search engine for the site doesn't return anything. I guess there's an issue with the site? So I apologize if this has been asked before.

Need advice on a 9mm Lee mold. I'm just getting into casting; been reloading for 6 years. My 9mm carbine shoots fine using Berry's 9mm 124 gr bullets with diameter of .356.

From reading Lyman's Cast Bullet Handbook and 51st Reloading manual, it's recommended to cast a bullet .001-.002 over groove diameter. Lee only offers 9mm molds with a .356 diameter. Here's my question, do you know if Lee 9mm molds cast oversize? If so, by how much?

As cast bullet diameter 9mm.

Mine is oversize by .002" BUT the alloy used changes the as cast diameter. Antimony making bigger bullets. https://www.thehighroad.org/index.ph...9mm-luger.317/

From Lee's link.
    Our bullet mold tolerance is stated diameter, +.003/-.000 inch
    Always check finished sized bullet diameter. Harder alloys spring back after sizing, by as much as .002" (linotype)
    Last edited by 243winxb; 12-31-2023 at 05:51 PM. Reason: Add lee info

Boolit Mold
    Quote Originally Posted by 243winxb View Post
    Mine is oversize by .002" BUT the alloy used changes the as cast diameter. Antimony making bigger bullets. https://www.thehighroad.org/index.ph...9mm-luger.317/

From Lee's link.

Always check finished sized bullet diameter. Harder alloys spring back after sizing, by as much as .002" (linotype)
    Thank you 243winxb! I'll also check out the link. Appreciate your help. Happy New Year to you!

Moderator Emeritus

mgunner,
    welcome to the forum.
    Honestly, it's a coin toss with Lee molds.