WidenersSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackbox
Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingTitan ReloadingLoad Data
Inline Fabrication RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lube after PC, before sizing??

Lube after PC, before sizing??

I am casting 45-70-405. They come out of the mold at 459. That's good. Then I "shake and bake" for powder coating.

First question is...how do you all prevent scratching the powder off the bullet after "shaking" before baking? When I pick them up with needle nose pliers to sit them on the oven tray, I scratch some of the powder off. Not a good finished product.

Second question...they, of course, come out of the oven several thousandths wider. Have to size them back to 459. I use the Lee sizer which is recommended to lube before sizing. Do you all spray lube on the PC bullets before sizing in the Lee sizer?

I'm sure you guessed that this is my first attempt at powder coating.

Boolit Master

due to being lazy I shake mine then dump the powder, BBs and powder into a colander.

the holes in the colander have been drilled out and edges smoothed to allow the powder/BBs to fall through

I then dump the PC bullets onto a wire rack and bake for 20 minutes once the temp has reached 400°

Remove the rack and dump the bullets into a metal rectangle cake pan from wally-world

tap the pan a few times to keep the bullets from sticking together.

once cool size using Lee push through on an inverted press--bullets drop right into die without having to center the bullet on the ram

IF NEEDED I might spray lube them but most times they size just fine as the PC coating is a bit slick

Best to luck as PC is more of an art than science and you'll develop your own "style" as you do more of it
    NRA Life
    USPSA L1314
    SASS Life 48747
    RVN/Cambodia War Games, 2nd Place

Boolit Master
    I use tweezers to set powdered bullets. I put a piece of heat shrink (not the shiny stuff) on the tweezer tips and that protects the powder.