Titan ReloadingSnyders JerkyLee PrecisionRepackbox
WidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataReloading Everything
Inline Fabrication RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can a Highwall be chambered in .50-70?

Can a Highwall be chambered in .50-70?

I'm not very good at searching, but I cannot find record of such. It seems like it would be a neat rifle. Is there a reason it can't be done?

Would love to know what you know about it!

Thanks, namsag
    Slavin' away for the Takers - I make it, They take it.

Probably not. The problem would be the thin portion of the chamber ahead of the breech. The threads cut into the barrel would leave a very thin chamber wall.

Boolit Master
    Isnt there a 20g shotgun variation of the 1885?

Of course they can be chambered in .50-70 Govt.!
    When Winchester first offered the 1885 one of the factory chamberings was .50-90 Sharps, which has very similar base and rim diameter to the Govt. .50 cartridge. Of course there were two barrel thread shanks, and any in a .50 would be the large shank like all other larger cartridges used. Only the very small cartridges used the smaller shank size.

And if you don't mind a foreign import, Browning and I believe later Winchester chambered the Miroku made 1885s in 50-90 also.

I have a Pedersoli in .45-70. I was thinking in terms of maybe having it changed over, the barrel walls certainly seem thick enough, but I don't know about the barrel threads, perhaps a whole new barrel would be necessary.
    Slavin' away for the Takers - I make it, They take it.

Boolit Grand Master

Southern France by way of Interior Bush Alaska
    Quote Originally Posted by namsag View Post
    I have a Pedersoli in .45-70. I was thinking in terms of maybe having it changed over, the barrel walls certainly seem thick enough, but I don't know about the barrel threads, perhaps a whole new barrel would be necessary.
    You could try contacting Pedersoli and see what they think.

Boolit Master