Titan ReloadingSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2Load Data
RepackboxInline FabricationLee PrecisionReloading Everything
Wideners MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Powder coat sizing issue

Boolit Man

Powder coat sizing issue

So This is my first time sizing bullets and casting. I tried it with both a 358-200 mold that I am sizing to .361” for my enfield revolver (slugged .360”) the pills drop right about .359” or so and the powder coat brings it up to right about .3615”. I then tried it with a 309-113 mold for my 30 carbine which slugs .310”. I am using the Lee APP and their breech lock bullet sizers sized .311” and .361”. It keeps either ripping the PC off, deforming the GC or both. Some are also very hard to size with the GC. I am using Hornady .35 GC and sages outdoor 30 cal aluminum GC. I have no idea what I am doing wrong any advice is appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Boolit Master

Did you water drop your boolits?

Boolit Man
    Quote Originally Posted by Silvercreek Farmer View Post
    Did you water drop your boolits?
    Ya I dropped them from the mold into a 5 gallon bucket of water (it was about 36-40 degrees out when I did it).

Boolit Master

Does your sizer die have a bevel entrance or is it a sharper shoulder? looks like it is stripping at the wide parts (Bands & Gas Checks).

Try: Slight amount of lube. When nose sizing I slightly lube the nose of each PC'd boolit with a very light touch of Lanolin between my thumb and index finger.
    Mustang

"In the beginning... the patriot is a scarce man, and brave and hated and scorned. When his cause succeeds, the timid join him, for then it costs nothing to be a patriot." - Mark Twain.

Boolit Master

Alloy?

Did you water drop them again out of the PC oven?

Try dropping them out of the mold on a dry towel, then allowing them to cool slowly out of the PC oven and see how they size. The revolver shouldn’t need hard boolits at all.

Boolit Man