Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2Snyders JerkyRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataInline FabricationLee Precision
Reloading Everything Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Leading issues

Boolit Mold

Leading issues

Hello everyone, I'm new to casting and finally got around to testing some of my first cast loads today. My 9mm loads seem to be leading
    my barrel pretty bad. I'm using lee liquid alox to lube them.

Bore size? Boolit size? Alloy? Load?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    Paper targets aren't your friends. They won't lie for you and they don't care if your feelings get hurt.

Boolit Master

If you are trying to push them too hard, they will likely lead. Also if your lead is soft, they may be getting swaged by the case when seating, which will cause leading as well. Really need specifics asked for in above post to get to the root of the problem.

Boolit Mold
    .356 bore size, .357 bullet size, and I'm just using wheel weights. 4.3gr titegroup, 111gr bullets

You picked a rather difficult cartridge to learn shooting cast with. I did the same and to this day shoot very little cast in 9mm.
    If you really want to enjoy the hobby I'd suggest getting a more cast friendly cartridge to load cast in.
    I know it can be done but for me it wasn't worth the frustration. There's just too many cast friendly guns out there to enjoy

Wheel weights are fine for alloy. Many use tight group or other fast powders although I prefer slower in 9mm.

That leads me to think a bit bigger boolit might help. Can you try. 358?

Also there is a sticky on setting up to load 9mm that is pure gold. You might want to review it.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    Paper targets aren't your friends. They won't lie for you and they don't care if your feelings get hurt.

Maybe give powder coating a try. I haven’t had any leading issues in the five 9mm’s I use them in.

Boolit Mold