RotoMetals2Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Load DataSnyders JerkyWidenersInline Fabrication
Lee Precision Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ingot size?

Boolit Man

Ingot size?

I have been making a small pile of ingots from RMR sourced lead. So far I’m pretty happy with the lead, it’s clean it’s easy, it’s nice. My ingots are small though and I wonder if I shouldn’t jump up a size. What I have is a mini muffin tin and the ingots if I pour them completely full go to 8 ounces but I don’t like going that full and I am getting more in the 7 oz range consistently. I know lead is lead and the size doesn’t matter much, but since I’m new to this I’m wondering if I should be making my ingots larger since most are in the 1-2 pound range. I have a Lee 4-10 bottom pour and it looks like these will be nice for initial melt because they will drop down on either side of the pour rod and let me get material all the way down in the pot. I don’t particularly care that they are smaller, I can just add an ingot more frequently as I pour.

Talk me into or out of using a bigger/better/different ingot mold. For size reference, my ingot is roughly half dollar sized and is about a half inch tall.

Banned
    I like angle iron and channel ingot molds, both stack well

You load the pot once and you're done

I measure the BHN before I smelt when I can

Last edited by Conditor22; 03-06-2021 at 08:22 PM.

Boolit Master
    Looks like you are '"smelting" range scrape, how do you measure that BHN prior to ingots??

It isn't going to matter, as long as they fit your pot. I made an ingot mold from angle iron (old bed frame) those are about 1.5 pounds. The only time I would need to stack them is if I were to sell (package) any. The alloy that I do trade/sell, I use 1 pound Lyman molds...50 pounds of those are a great fit in a well built med flat-rate box.
    Take a kid to the range, you'll both be glad you did.

Boolit Master