MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationRepackboxTitan Reloading
Snyders JerkyRotoMetals2WidenersLee Precision
Load Data Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Subsonic 55 grain 223.

Boolit Mold

Subsonic 55 grain 223.

I’m still relatively new to casting and learning something new every time I cast rounds. Last month I shot an axis deer with a subsonic 223 round I had picked up somewhere. It worked great for a neck shot inside 30 yards. Where I hunt axis there’s some nosie type people that are none the smarter if they aren’t hearing a rifle being fired off. I’m castOmg 223 in a lee 55 grain mold and have been loading them with unique. Powder being hard to come by, I was wondering what people were using for 223 subs. I was thinking maybe 3 or 4 grains of unique to start with and work up or down depending on results. Am I thinking right on this?

Boolit Grand Master

I prefer to use Bullseye for such loads and many times sub sonic loads with Unique do not generate enough psi efficiently. If you must use the Unique I suggest you start at 5 gr Unique and work down in .3 gr increments until sub sonic which ill be around 1050 to 1100 fps. Keep a stout cleaning rod hand in case some bullets don't exit the barrel. If you can get some Bullseye then I suggest 2.0, 2.2 or 2.4 gr under that Lee bullet. How much to be just sub sonic depends on the primer used and the barrel length.
    Larry Gibson

“Deficient observation is merely a form of ignorance and responsible for the many morbid notions and foolish ideas prevailing.”
    ― Nikola Tesla

Boolit Master

hodgdon lists a titegroup loading on their website data.

good luck
    WebMonkey
    Retired 19D
    Psalm 91:9
    Honda 919

I have had very good luck with that tight group / trail boss and cbi powder.

Alll shot out if a remington bolt action ,223

Lee 55 grn powder coated

With 3-8 grains of powder. Depending on use.