Snyders JerkyReloading EverythingLoad DataLee Precision
WidenersRepackboxTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters Supply RotoMetals2

Thread: Lee sizer vs Lyman style sizer???? Pro/con??

Boolit Mold

Lee sizer vs Lyman style sizer???? Pro/con??

Thanks for all the help. I had a successful smelting day and have about 35# of wheel weight ingots.
    I need a pro vs con on lee sizers and tl vs using a lyman or rcbs with a heater (beside lee is cheaper).??? Is tl better or different than hard lube??
    Also how do I know when I have fluxed enough?? Each time I added flux i got a small ie 1/2 teaspoon amt of junk off the top of a 2 quart pan.
    I plan to shoot pistol only at this time>>

Addendum: As a novice I thought I would mention the equipment I used today for the first time; $10 hotplate from walgreens, dollar store $2 ladle and spoon, flux, 2 quart steel teflon coated pot (Larger pot would have been more efficient), $2 teflon coated muffin pan from dollar store, diposable alum. pan like you use for a turkey to dump the scum in then put it in a cardboard box when cool, latex gloves. It took 10-17 minutes to melt each pot of wheel weights ie approx 1.5 hrs for 4 batches with cleanup. It really does stink.

Thanks for all the help!!
    Last edited by aeronc; 12-25-2008 at 06:39 PM.

Boolit Master

I like the Lee Sizers.
    They are fast, efficient, and store in a small place. I have only had one bad sizing in all my sizing. I do about 500 at a time.
    If I need an unusual size, I just contact Lee and either send my die in, or they make one.
    Good enough for me.
    I make my pan lube. It is about perhaps medium. The Lee Sizers usually have some that wiped off the precious sizings. I wipe some of that on the ones that have voids in the lube.

Boolit Master
    First let me say the the Lee sizer is one of the best basic tools you can buy for getting started. Another advantage is the ease in which it can be modified for an off the wall diameter.