RepackboxReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
WidenersLee PrecisionTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
Load Data RotoMetals2

Thread: cerrosafe, check me out on this plan and give advice please

cerrosafe, check me out on this plan and give advice please

OK, consider me to be a total casting noob and you won't be off by much. My experience is #4 buckshot and 12ga slugs. I have NO experience with casting for rifled arms.

It was suggested to me that I slug my barrel. You have no idea how reluctant I am to pound even pure lead into the muzzle of an accurate firearm. Enter cerrosafe.

One handgun is a .300BLK AR. I should have a chamber casting, so I was told. If I get the bore measurements from ahead of the leade that will tell me all I need w/o playing near the muzzle, correct? (except for the cleaning rod at the muzzle pounding the casting out of the chamber) The muzzle on this gun is not so easy to get to but I suppose I can get to it if I must. Or would you forego the chamber casting and just take a muzzle casting?

Another rifle is a 9mm that doesn't have an easily removable barrel. But I can easily get to the muzzle. For this I'm thinking of just getting what I need from pouring into the muzzle and pounding the casting out from the chamber end.

Does this sound like a plan that will get me what I need? I'm definitely open to suggestions.

Boolit Master

If you use cerrosafe you will need to keep these properties in mind to get accurate measurements. CerroSafe® is a special alloy of Bismuth, Tin, Lead and other metals, that shrinks slightly during the first 30 minutes, to allow easy removal, then expands to exact original size in one hour. We recommend CerroSafe® for making a chamber cast.
    NRA Benefactor Member NRA Golden Eagle

Boolit Master

Just size to .310 for the 300 BO and .357 for the 9mm.

Chances are you'll be fine with those diameters.
    NRA Benefactor.

Boolit Master

Quote Originally Posted by Burnt Fingers View Post