RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataInline Fabrication
RepackboxLee PrecisionReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
Wideners Snyders Jerky

Thread: Total newbie with most likely a stupid question

Boolit Mold

Total newbie with most likely a stupid question

Hi as the headline states im a total newbie when it comes to reloading of any kind and i have chosen to start with shotgun reloading i do have the lyman shotshell reloading hand book 5th edition for my source of load data and information and such but have a question which isnt covered in it or i havent found it yet . But my question is are shot load sizes interchangeable like say you find load data for the hulls primers and powder you have but its for 1 1\8 oz of #8 shot could you change the shot size to 00 buck if you if you came as close to the same shot weight without any harm i hope i dont come off as stupid for asking this question but with the supply shortage hopeing to be able to load buckshot useing what i have available but want to ask more knowledgeable people before hand thanks and god bless
    Last edited by Hoss29860; 02-14-2021 at 01:01 PM. Reason: Spell

Shot charges are all about weight.
    That's how the bushings on the charge bars are rated.

If you want to 'come close', stay on the 'under' side.
    Other wise, it might get real exciting.
    In school: We learn lessons, and are given tests.
    In life: We are given tests, and learn lessons.

OK People. Enough of this idle chit-chat.
    This ain't your Grandma's sewing circle.
    EVERYONE!
    Back to your oars. The Captain wants to waterski.

Boolit Man
    Not a stupid question. I've heard there's no such thing. But I digress. Ounces are ounces. Whether it be lead or chicken feathers. 1 1/8 oz. of #8 shot is the same as 1 1/8 oz. of #1 buckshot.

Boolit Grand Master