RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingLoad DataSnyders Jerky
MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxInline FabricationReloading Everything
Wideners Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: source for pure Antimony and flux.

Boolit Mold

source for pure Antimony and flux.

Where can I get Antimony for casting and the proper flux? Researching the flux it seems like the proper stuff needed to mix the Antimony with Lead isn't available any longer.

Thanks,

Sure you want to try to alloy Sb with Pb? Hard road and very toxic...Try Rotometals superhard, pre alloyed 30% antimonial lead. Good luck, stay un poisoned!

Boolit Mold
    Yes I do, "Hard road and very toxic" I'm aware but would like to try it anyways. Rotometals is a plan B or C.

Thanks for the warning.

Boolit Master
    from what I understand it is no so easy to get pure antimony to mix into lead. I'm no expert but in shooting cast bullets there's not a whole lot that cannot be done with both Linotype and lyman #2.
    if you have pure lead and want to make it a harder alloy one path that is very viable is to mix in some foundry type into your pure lead. or just buy Lyman #2 or Linotype from Rotometals. at least you will know exactly what alloy you have when getting from a source such as Rotometals.
    I spent years working with a man who owned scrap yards and had an xrf gun and never ever saw pure or even close to pure antimony.

Quote Originally Posted by rodm1 View Post
    Yes I do, "Hard road and very toxic" I'm aware but would like to try it anyways. Rotometals is a plan B or C.

Thanks for the warning.
    Sounds like you know what you're doing, please let me know how this goes. I appreciate the plan B and C approach and none of us knows when Rotometals may be no more...it's in Kommiefornia, you know!

Boolit Master
    I have seen Rotometals carrying Sa.
    QUIS CUSTODIET IPSOS CUSTODES?

Boolit Buddy