Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyWidenersRotoMetals2
Load Data Repackbox
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: powder measure for pistols

Boolit Master

powder measure for pistols

i'm new to loading for pistols. my current measure is a Redding. anything better for very small charges (accurate) of pistol powders??

Boolit Master
    let me ad that i also have a lyman 55 and a belding and mull. never used them, just like vintage stuff.

Boolit Grand Master
    The B&M will do for all but the smallest charge volumes, and the Lyman 55, using only the smallest slide is also good for small pistol charges. I have used both successfully along with others... I collect powder measures, it seems. I’ve gotten lazy though and often use one of the dedicated pistol measures with fixed charge rotors. I have them by RCBS (Little Dandy) and discontinued models from Lyman (Accu-Measure) and Pacific (Pacific Pistol Measure) that I like a lot. If you have the proper rotor for your desired charge, you just put it in, fill the reservoir, and start loading... no adjusting required.

Froggie
    "It aint easy being green!"

Boolit Master
    I have been having good luck with Lee's Autodisk Pro. I use it on my turret press. Not sure if you can operate manually though. It works very well with small charges.

Boolit Grand Master
    I use my old Lyman 55's for very small charges. For charges less than 2.0 grains, I weigh each charge. I have an old Ohaus Duo measure for magnum pistol charges, and an RCBS for rifle cartridges. The RCBS has two different powder chambers one large and one small, but I have never used the small one.