Inline FabricationSnyders JerkyWidenersTitan Reloading
Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
Load Data Repackbox

Thread: 38-55

Boolit Man

38-55

My high wall will be coming home from the gunsmith soon. It’s been refined with a 14 twist liner and chambered for 38-55. SN# puts the manufacturing date at 1886. It has a 28” #3 barrel. I have no experience with this cartridge. Plan to use it for target work out to 300 yards. Black powder loads only. Any suggestions for a bullet mold?
    JKR

Vendor Sponsor

With that twist, something in the 330 to 340 grain range would be a good place to start. Exact bullet choice depends on the liner and your likes. Is it a 0.372"- 0.380" liner with a 2.130 chamber length as they first were?
    Is it a 0.368"- 0.376" liner? Maybe the newer 2.085" chamber?

What kind of target work to 300yds? Everyone wants the most accuracy. That may take a little testing to get to the point you know what you are doing - testing is the fun part.
    Chill Wills

Boolit Grand Master

Off the shelf Ive done good with the Lymann 335 gr custom is a Old West 360 gr NASA. I haven't got around to Paper Patch for it yet. I cast from 20-1 and spg lube. Pan Lube and shoot as cast. A buddy really like the 302 grn RCBS but his was 15 twist I believe.

Boolit Man
    Quote Originally Posted by Chill Wills View Post
    With that twist, something in the 330 to 340 grain range would be a good place to start. Exact bullet choice depends on the liner and your likes. Is it a 0.372"- 0.380" liner with a 2.130 chamber length as they first were?
    Is it a 0.368"- 0.376" liner? Maybe the newer 2.085" chamber?

What kind of target work to 300yds? Everyone wants the most accuracy. That may take a little testing to get to the point you know what you are doing - testing is the fun part.
    Haven’t slugged it yet, of course, but supposed to be .368 bore, .375 groove. By target work I mean for punchin’ paper not critters.

Vendor Sponsor