Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingInline FabricationRotoMetals2
WidenersRepackboxLoad DataReloading Everything
Snyders Jerky MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: home made bullet mold

Boolit Buddy

home made bullet mold

I am new to this forum and also new to reloading. I have been a machinist for 35 years. I reloaded about 800 9mm with store bought fmj bullets but I would like to cast some of my own lead bullets and load some of them . It seems all the bullet molds are sold out right now so I would like to make my own. I bought some lee 6 mold handles and a sprue plate. I have a cnc mill to machine the mold and also a tool and cutter grinder to make the cutter. My question is how much bigger do you have to make a mold to allow for shrinkage of the bullet after casting? Im sure I could figure this out by trial and error but I was hoping you guys could help me out here. I would like to cast to powder coat the bullets so is there any real reason to cast lube grooves in the bullet? Could I make them smooth just like a fmj?

Boolit Master
    I have no idea about the shrinkage part.

A few mfgs offer smooth/undersize molds for powdercoat or Hitek coating.

Instead of making a cherry for cutting the mold I'd be tempted to machine it directly with a small boring tool. Might need a diamond tool for it to get a good finish.

Boolit Grand Master

Southern France by way of Interior Bush Alaska
    I’m not qualified to answer your question about shrinkage, but I know of a few guys on here who most probably can. Just wait and they will surly respond when they see your post.

The second part about no lube grooves, yes you can cast boolits without lube grooves for powder coating. A lot of people are starting to use plain sided molds for PC and paper patching. Don’t forget you may want to use a gas check, so you would still have to consider that.

Welcome to the forum and good luck.

Boolit Master