RotoMetals2Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
Snyders JerkyRepackboxWidenersLoad Data
Inline Fabrication Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .303 Brit, cast boolet mold recomendation

Boolit Man

.303 Brit, cast boolet mold recomendation

Hi guys,
    I have a 1942 Savage No. 4 Mk.1 with a 2-groove barrel. I recently did a chamber cast with Cerrosafe, and the bore measures out to be.303", the grooves are .314", and the throat is .312". I'm looking at this mold:

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1016831667?pid=700797

I'd like some advice on choosing a boolet mold that will give me the best chance of good accuracy with velocities in the 1300-1500 fps range. I'm a real newb at bullet casting, the only experience I have is casting Lee key drive 7/8the ounce slugs. I guess you could say I know how to cast, but I don't know much about the 303. I'm looking at the preceding mold simply because of the throat diameter.

Scotty

Boolit Master

You are going to get a few different responses on this one. Some say to size to throat diameter, others say .001-.002 over groove size (in your case, size to .316). At that velocity, air-cooled wheel weights will do just fine. Using that mold, with that speed range, I would start with 10 grs. of Unique, or 13 grs. of Red Dot, and see how she does. She may want a heavier boolit; I use the Accurate 316-215B at .316, or NOE 316299 at the same size. Both do well for me with either powder. Work your loads up or down with both powders and the Lee 160; the rifle will let you know.
    Lead Forever!

The 2nd amendment was never intended to allow private citizens to 'keep and bear arms.' If it had, there would have been wording such as 'the right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. -Ken Konecki, July 27, 1992

John Galt was here.

"Politics is the art of postponing an answer until it is no longer relevant". (From the movie 'Red Tails')