Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionReloading EverythingLoad Data
MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersInline FabricationRotoMetals2
Repackbox Snyders Jerky

Thread: What mould to buy? What are all these rings?

What mould to buy? What are all these rings?

I'm very new to casting, not to firearms, but I've always purchased my bullets. I've cast #4 buckshot and slugs and they turned out great but due to the political climate I think it would be a very good idea to start casting 9mm (125ish grains) and .30 bullets as well. I know very little about bullet casting so anything that you write is far more than I know; I will definitely absorb it. The .30 bullets will be both light (~110-130 grains) and >200grains for use in 300BLK. Velocity will be near 2000fps maximum with the light bullets and near subsonic with the heavies.

I was looking at bullet moulds online yesterday and I understand about grease grooves. I saw some moulds that produce bullets with much smaller rings and maybe 6-8 of them (LEE?). I don't think they're grease grooves, they sure don't look like any grease grooves I've ever seen before. What are they for? And do I want them?

Is 2000fps with wheelweights too high for cast with no gas check?

I intend to powder coat my bullets if that's required information. For sizing I have a single stage press and I'll get a push through die. I have maybe 1500# of wheel weights.

Thanks folks, I appreciate any help you can give.

Boolit Master
    welcome your in the right place
    clip on wheel weights with a little bit of tin added are pretty much all I use and been shooting 30-30, 30-06, 32 win spl, 35 rem, 35 whelen, and others at 2000-2100 fps, with no problems, lube sizing .002-.003 oversize and been using carnauba red lube for the past decade.
    those lee bullets with all the grooves are good for pan lubing with lee alox. I've never shot a pan lubed bullet faster than about 1200 fps out of a pistol.