MidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2WidenersSnyders Jerky
Titan ReloadingRepackboxLoad DataInline Fabrication
Reloading Everything Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MEC 600 JR crimp starter help

Boolit Buddy

MEC 600 JR crimp starter help

I have an older MEC 600 JR in 16ga and am trying to load some new cheddite hulls. This is my first time using a mec, and first time loading shotshell on any press. The issue I am having is with the crimp. The crimp starter was not putting very pronounced starting crimps. I figure a combination of cold hulls and inexperience are not helping matters. I heated the top of the hull slightly with a heat gun before running through the crimp starter die. This helped quite a bit, but for some reason, it is only putting 7 crimps instead of 8. Any ideas, tips, or pointers would be appreciated. Pics below of a hull with my "custom 7" crimp haha.

Boolit Master

Edge of The Crab Orchard National Wildlife Refuge
    Silly question, but the hulls were 8 point crimp originally, yes? Does it immediately try to fold one crimp in from the beginning of the stroke?

Easing the crimp starter, ie, doing it in 2 or 3 strokes a bit more each time can help with stubborn hulls.
    More "This is what happened when I,,,,," and less "What would happen if I,,,,"

Last of the original Group Buy Honcho's.

"Dueling should have never been made illegal in this country. It settled lots of issues between folks."- Char-Gar

Boolit Buddy
    Hulls were brand new so no crimp to begin with. Will try to go in slower stages to see if that helps. I had be just pulling the lever applying smooth, steady pressure and holding for a few seconds.

Boolit Master
    Make the die (crimp) turns inside (spins). Do what I call a double stamp (Hamish said the same thing) at this station. If I recall there is also a concave ring or a washer that can be use that may help.

Boolit Master
    Are your hulls skived?

Boolit Buddy