Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
RepackboxTitan ReloadingLoad DataRotoMetals2
Wideners Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help, new to cast reloading

Boolit Mold

Need help, new to cast reloading

So I'm new to reloading cartridge guns with cast boolits, and I'm trying to reload for my 303, the bore i slugged around .314 .315 so i cast and loaded some cartridges with a 203g linotype .316 boolit on top of 38g of h380 (i know I've heard it's not really a cast bullet powder but it's what i have from reloading jacketed)

Odd thing is, when I took it to the range, nothing was hitting at 50 yards, shortened up to 25 yards (almost "point blank" for this guy) and still not on paper, I'm not sure where its hitting if at all, out of frustration I load it with some factory 174g jacketed and a 5 shot group in 3 inches dead center.

What am I doing wrong?

Boolit Buddy milsurpcollector1970's Avatar
    Well, a few things could be happening.

You could be leading your barrel because of the velocity Not sure what the book speed is for that charge could not find it in the online reloading guide.

It could be really slow and the bullets are all hitting under the target.

H380 is a fairly slow powder and cast boolits generally like faster powders.

What gun are u using, the Enfield has sight that are calibrated for a jacketed bullet?

I would start with a powder better suited for cast like h4895. If you can find it (its a tough time for beginning reloaders right now)

H4895 allows you to lower the charge to 60% of max for a reduced load

3rd: Welcome along. Try a Lot softer alloy and a lot faster powder. Try 10 Bhn (Approx.) range scrap- wheel weight. And maybe Red Dot 10 or 12 gr. Maybe TiteGroup 8 or 9gr. and let us know. Gp

Boolit Grand Master

"So I'm new to reloading cartridge guns with cast boolits,"