RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners
RepackboxInline FabricationReloading EverythingLoad Data
Snyders Jerky Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carbide smoker for open/aperture sights

Boolit Buddy

Carbide smoker for open/aperture sights

I bought mine back about circa 1975 when I was a cop and started shooting PPC for the unlimited ammunition we were issued if we shot competitively. Ah... the old days of the 158 grain round nose trundling out the barrel of a S&W Model 10 at 880 fps. What a manstopper!

Anyways, even with the eyes of a kid back then, it didn't take long to realize how much better you could see the sights after you smoked them with a carbide lamp. Mine is still going strong after 45 years, and I expect it will be there in my estate for somebody to snatch up (if they know what it's for). Still gets use most of the time I go to the range, whether with the A.J. Parker sights on the Long Branch Lee Enfield or any number of different revolvers and auto pistols.

Had been looking for years to find them still for sale somewhere to buy for each of my younger brothers. Anyways, finally found them. If you target shoot with irons... you should really consider buying one of these before they disappear again.

http://www.champchoice.com/store/Mai...ions&item=CL20

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CL20_XL.JPG 
Views:	30 
Size:	59.1 KB 
ID:	271790

Right you are. Unfortunately they corrode over time.

Moderator Emeritus
    Here's another one, which is what I use:

http://www.watersrifleman.com/supersmokersightsmoker/

It's a little more expensive. I don't know what the difference is between the two of them, if there is a difference. Same outcome.

Boolit Grand Master

If you clean it after each use they will not corrode as badly. Usually this consists of wiping it down with a damp cloth and periodically coating the threads with bullet lube. I am still using mine weekly since 1982 and have one NIB as a backup.