RepackboxTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
Snyders JerkyReloading EverythingInline FabricationRotoMetals2
Wideners Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommendations Needed for a Lead Smelting Setup

Boolit Mold

Recommendations Needed for a Lead Smelting Setup

TOTAL newb here. I went to a one day workshop on casting and caught the bug...

I now currently have about 25 gallons of range scrap and access to basically as much more as I want.
    So it is time to put together an operation to melt it down and make some ingots! I can't wait

I want the setup to be relatively efficient on propane and I want to do big batches at a time.

So what do you all recommend for a burner and and a pot?
    Links or pictures would be helpful

Boolit Master

If it were my project I would get a water heater, cut it in half the long way, figure out a heat source, and mount it on a slope so I could collect molten lead from the low end, either with a valve or a dipper.
    Micah 6:8
    He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good; and what doth the LORD require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?

"I don't have hobbies - I'm developing a robust post-apocalyptic skill set"
    I may be discharged and retired but I'm sure I did not renounce the oath that I solemnly swore!

Boolit Master
    Too much too soon. Turkey fryer for burner. Flashing for heat/wind shield around a cut in half propane bottle. Large ladle and aluminum, cast iron or ceramic muffin pans to begin. Close to 150lb per batch.
    QUIS CUSTODIET IPSOS CUSTODES?

Banned

Boolit Bub
    Grmps' propane pot is inspiring. I bought a cheap turkey fryer stand at Menards and HF cast iron dutch oven for smelting. Buy or build a sturdier stand, just for confidence's sake. Especially if you're planning on doing anything in bulk. Plan for any catastrophic failure you can think of. It's safe if you make it safe.