Reloading EverythingRotoMetals2Load DataInline Fabrication
Snyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersTitan Reloading
Lee Precision Repackbox

Thread: Homemade Brinell Tester

Boolit Master

Homemade Brinell Tester

Many thanks to @wimms for their thread -> http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...-hardness-test

Since I have lead of questionable metallurgy and am new at casting, I am gathering tools for the task at hand. I am also a test engineer with a heavy electro mechanical background so the math and techniques behind Brinell hardness testing is not a challenge. So, I put together this Brinell tester last night. It is rough at the moment and will need to be mounted properly but I wanted to get it functional and the math straight before making it pretty.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Brinell_Test_Jig_1.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	49.1 KB 
ID:	268528

Here is where the sample is placed. It is important that when the sample is being tested that the bar be kept as horizontal as possible, hence the need to shim the sample to an appropriate height.

Name:	Brinell_Test_Jig_2.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	51.2 KB 
ID:	268530

I started with a 37 1/2" iron bar.
    3/4" from one end is a 5/16" pivot hole.
    3/4" from the other end is a 3/16" hole for weights.
    3" from the pivot hole is a mount for a ball bearing.
    This creates a class 3 lever as shown in the next diagram.

Name:	levers-third-class.png 
Views:	39 
Size:	2.4 KB 
ID:	268529
    Class 3 lever math is rather simple. Fe = Fl x (dl / de)
    NOTE DL/DE is IMA (Ideal Mechanical Advantage)

The bar though has weight to it, so I measured the weight at the very end of the bar and came up with 1186 grams and solved for Fe = 1186 grams (36.75"/3") = 14528.5 grams or 32.03 pounds which is what is applied to the sample with no weight at the end of the lever.

I used some widow weights that weigh 6728 grams (14.83 pounds) for my load weight.