RotoMetals2Inline FabricationReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingWidenersRepackbox
Snyders Jerky Load Data

Thread: Sizing lube when using Alox

Boolit Master

Sizing lube when using Alox

I am still very new to casting bullets and understand the processes involved but there are still some areas that are a little vague.

I'm going to be casting some .452 230 grain bullets and have a Lee .452 resizing die.
    Before I get into any more exotic coatings like powder coating, I plan on using Alox, the application of which seems fairly straightforward.
    When using a waxing substance like Alox, should you apply it before or after sizing? With powder coating, most PC the bullets prior to sizing.
    If you apply Alox after sizing, with the Lee sizing die, is it good to use some lubricant that is then removed after sizing and before application of Alox?

Many thanks...

Boolit Grand Master

You need to apply it before sizing. Otherwise you’re going to stick bullets in the die. Here is a link to Lee’s instructions: http://leeprecision.com/files/instruct/BS2003.pdf

Boolit Man
    OK. Do you then re-apply it after sizing?

Boolit Buddy
    I think the instructions say to apply, size, re-apply.

Boolit Grand Master bedbugbilly's Avatar