WidenersRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingLoad Data
Snyders JerkyInline FabricationRepackboxReloading Everything
Lee Precision MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: Bullet lube...

Boolit Mold

Bullet lube...

I'm a newbie to the black powder cartridge game. Is it okay to load and shoot my Uberti .44 Russian open top with a smokeless powder lubed lead bullets...I'm only going to shoot 5 rounds?

over the hill, out in the woods and far away
    Modern lubes on commercial hard-cast bullets aren't even very effective with smokeless, as the hard wax lubricants do not flow under pressure to coat the bore. For black powder use you really want a soft lube which will wet the black powder fouling and keep it soft. An inexpensive and effective black powder lube is to simply blend 50-50 beeswax and Crisco shortening or lard, or a 40-60 ratio of olive oil and beeswax.

You might try just a cylinder full and see how badly the gun cakes up, but I would not be hopeful. If you would boil your hard-cast bullets to melt off the hard wax lube, and then re-lube them by hand with the Crisco-beeswax or olive oil-beeswax mixture I think you will see the difference is dramatic. With bullets which fit correctly and soft lube you should be able to shoot all day without wiping or blow tubing.

I would search for a commercial caster who can provide soft bullets of 1:20 or 1:30 tin-lead alloy with SPG lube unless you want to learn to cast your own.
    The ENEMY is listening.
    HE wants to know what YOU know.
    Keep it to yourself.

I wouldn't trust them to store well, but in a older edition of the Lyman Cast Bullet book-

There was a article about BP lubes, and a favorite of 'old timers', that they swore by was boiled chicken fat.

I'm not a BP guy, but from cooking chicken, I've learned that stuff is slicker than a used car salesman,
    and ya darn near have to sandblast it off your hands.
    In school: We learn lessons, and are given tests.
    In life: We are given tests, and learn lessons.