RotoMetals2Load DataWidenersReloading Everything
Lee PrecisionInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan Reloading
Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can lube cause squibs?

Can lube cause squibs?

I have been reloading for about 10 years, but I’ve only been casting for about a year.
    I have had my first squib with my cast bullets. I assumed I had skipped putting powder in, so I modified my loading sequence to eliminate brain dead repetitive habits. I was shocked to get another scrub. I have never had one until I started loading cast bullets.

I tumble lube with Lee Alox/JPW/MS. Is it possible that the lube is contaminating the powder and causing squibs? The last squib was barely a pop. It seemed the primer was possibly contaminated too.

And finally, if these are the result of lube contamination, what are your precautions? I am a slow revolver shooter. But it still concerns me. I have not had any similar errors until I started loading my own cast bullets. If anything, I have been more attentive since then.

Boolit Master
    Was there a bunch of unburnt powder in between the bullet and the case?

Yes, I have experienced that.

I assumed the lube had too much paraffin, or the shells were stored in the heat, and too long.

I changed to a different lube, and then eventually powder coating.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Highly unlikely ALOX/Wax combo you mentioned caused powder contamination. (highly)
    But if you're worried, throw the tumble-lubed bullets onto a pizza pan and place in oven for 20-min at 225° before bed and leave there overnite as things cool.

Once properly applied/dried, ALOX ain't goin' nowhere.