RepackboxWidenersSnyders JerkyLoad Data
Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
Lee Precision RotoMetals2

Thread: micrometer readings of a slug

Boolit Buddy

micrometer readings of a slug

Hello,

I've been doing this in the Johnny Cash manner (one piece at a time). So I've been a member for a while but only just slugged my barrel.I drove a pure lead .360 roundball through a .357 lever action barrel and measured it with a micrometer. I've never used a micrometer before so I'm aware the variance might be me.

I got 2 groups of measurements. One group average .3505 and the other group .3576 they're pretty tight around each other with a max difference between measurements of 0.0005 and 0.0007 respectively. With that in mind I've got 2 questions:

1. Should I just look at the average of the measurements as the guide off which I buy my sizer? Or if the numbers are that much different is the problem me, slug it again, make sure to measure perfectly?

2. I'm confident the larger measurement is the widest area in the bore (so measures the bottom of the land to bottom of the land). But I'm not quite sure if the smaller measurement is a land to groove or groove to groove measurement. Is there something obvious I'm missing to tell?
    "There are no solutions there are only tradeoffs" ~ Thomas Sowell

Boolit Grand Master

Measure some "known" items with your mic, IE jacketed bullets are very close to what the box says, dowel pins are good, drill bits, any thing that is a known size. See how close you are there and adjust your feel to this.

If you want the rifling to engage the slug you need to size to the larger dia usually +.001 if possible, so a .358-359 sizing die. The chamber may also limit how big you can go as a bullet to big in the case wont allow it to chamber easily. To large a loaded round neck dia.

Boolit Grand Master