MidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingTitan ReloadingWideners
Load DataSnyders JerkyInline FabricationRepackbox
RotoMetals2 Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 9mm 8-Cavity MP Mold

Boolit Buddy

Unhappy 9mm 8-Cavity MP Mold

Hello Everyone

New member here, and this is my first post, so please be gentle as I am a super newbie to casting. I know there are a lot of casting elders here so I thought I would ask before being sorry.

I purchased this mold from MP:
    https://www.mp-molds.com/product/mp-...o-lube-groove/

If it drops bullets at ~.359" and is powder coated, which adds ~.002" in thickness, that would make it ~.361" in diameter. Can I run it through a Lee .357" sizer on my APP? That is a reduction of ~0.005" which could ruin the powder coat no?

Anybody using this mold and powder coating with success?

Thanks

Boolit Master
    Welcome! The extra PC thickness isn't a problem. Give them a squirt of lube and run them through.

Boolit Buddy
    Thanks for the info I will try the lube idea.

Anybody else here using this mold? If so, do you have any pictures you can post?

I don’t use that exact mold, but an mp 359-125 no lube groove hollow point mold. It comes in at about 135 grains with a large hp pin.
    Due to the price of primers, warning shots will no longer be given!

Boolit Master

9mm 8-Cavity MP Mold

As long as your mold is clean and smooth it won’t scrape the PC. Sizing swags down the lead rather than shaving it so as long as there should be no issue with PC.

That being said I used to have some Lyman 45/450/4500 sizers that had burs in the lube holes that had to be polished out otherwise they scraped PC.

I have a MP 359-93 that I PC than size down to .355 and never have any issues. Other alternative is size first, PC, size again.

If your PC comes off in the sizer you might have an issue with your PC batch. You should be able to take a PC'd boolit and smash it flat with a hammer and the powder coat should stay on.
    WWG1WGA