Load DataRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingRepackbox
Inline FabricationTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners
Lee Precision

Thread: New to 310 Tools

Boolit Mold

New to 310 Tools

Howdy folks, I’m new to the reloading world in general and I’ve somehow got into the 310 tools. Figured I’d post my process for loading bp 45 Colt and ask for any knowledge or advice the more experienced may have.

I’m using Winchester brass and primers, 30 grains by volume of FFF Pyrodex (need to get some Goex), Hornady .454 round ball/220 grain Lee conical, felt wads, bp lube (50/50 crisco and beeswax).
    I’ve experimented a bit and I figure 30 grains is plenty, I have loaded up to 40 though.

For round ball I prime, charge using my powder flask with a ~30 grain spout, 2 dry wads over the powder and 1 lubed on top, seat the ball and crimp in separate steps otherwise it looks like a 44-40 case instead of 45LC, clean of excess lube and it good to go.

For the conicals the process is the exact same except I only use 1 lubed wad between the powder and bullet and I can set and crimp in the same step without getting the crimp from hell.

(Note: I know I’ve got a long necked 310 that’s not made for pistol cartridges, I’m in search of a short neck still.)Click image for larger version. 

Name:	645E51E5-A3F2-412C-ADC3-A9576D5BC68C.jpeg 
Views:	41 
Size:	94.1 KB 
ID:	265304

Boolit Grand Master

Good going, but you really don't need wads in pistol cartridges and BP. I use Goex in my 44-40's and never a wad. I am using a big lube boolit though so all my lube is on the boolit.

Loading that way will cause you to be very appreciative when you get a press, even if it is a TrueLine Jr so you can use the same dies.
    Wayne the Shrink

There is no 'right' that requires me to work for you or you to work for me!