Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingWidenersLoad Data
RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxLee Precision
Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 25-20 WCF load

Boolit Buddy

25-20 WCF load

Any info out there using Alliant 300 MP for my .25-20?
    Need a safe starting load if it is even possible with this powder.
    Thanks

Boolit Master
    its in the right place on the burn rate list, I'm no expert but I'm thinking 257420 and starting at maybe 6.5-7 grains. I don't, but if you have access to quick load maybe that's a place to look or someone with real expertise will chime in. I have asked Alliant for load data for other calibers and they write back saying they have none or will send request off to engineering Dept for possible evaluation. we need to keep asking Alliant for more 300mp data and get them off their duffs. you might be able to extrapolate from 22 hornet data they provide

Boolit Buddy
    Well, don't know about 300 MP but both of my 25-20's (one very old and one very new) really like 12 grains of 1680 under that slug mentioned above.

Chris

Boolit Buddy
    [QUOTE=Chris S;4935022]Well, don't know about 300 MP but both of my 25

I will have to second that, I have a Marlin CL and an mgm barrel on my contender. both really like the 257-420 bullet with 12.5 of 1680 with a rem 6 1/2 primer.
    Barry

I use 7.5gn of Win 296 behind an 80gn cast boolit, very mild and very accurate.

Hold Still Varmint; while I plugs Yer!

Boolit Bub
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad *** Wallace View Post
    I use 7.5gn of Win 296 behind an 80gn cast boolit, very mild and very accurate.

Gas check or no?

Boolit Buddy