MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataSnyders JerkyTitan Reloading
Reloading EverythingRepackboxLee PrecisionWideners
Inline Fabrication RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scrounging lead

Boolit Mold

Scrounging lead

Hey everyone, I’m fairly new to this, I just smelted a bunch of lead shavings I bought from a machine shop a few years back. I don’t think I’ll be getting more from that source, it was a one off job. Any tips on getting ahold of pure lead to smelt (muzzle loader bullets)? Do you get free lead very often? I’ve got the itch to smelt more lead...

Boolit Master
    I started checking out the local scrap yard, can't find wheel weights in my area anymore. I scored about 40lbs of pure lead bars and pipe, and about 6lbs of solder bars for about 1.30 a lb.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

Roofing leads, talk to your local roofer probably be able to trade beer for them

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by stovepipe699 View Post
    Hey everyone, I’m fairly new to this, I just smelted a bunch of lead shavings I bought from a machine shop a few years back. I don’t think I’ll be getting more from that source, it was a one off job. Any tips on getting ahold of pure lead to smelt (muzzle loader bullets)? Do you get free lead very often? I’ve got the itch to smelt more lead...
    I got 33lbs of lead pipe and a bit of bar solder for $1 a pound here a couple of weeks ago from the local salvage yard. Might look around in your area, and ask if they have lead if you can find a salvage yard. A local friend told me to cut off the joints, and smelt them separately, as the solder used on them can be 50% tin. Pipe itself should be pretty pure. The bars I got are National Lead 111, and another thread here says they're 50/50 tin/lead. Tin tends to be more expensive than lead, so I think I did well. Good luck!

Bill

Boolit Mold
    I sent a local roofer a message, and I’m going to make some more calls.