Inline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataLee Precision
RotoMetals2WidenersRepackboxTitan Reloading
Reloading Everything

Thread: Gas Check Fit

Boolit Bub

Gas Check Fit

Last night I was fighting with the gas checks fitting on the bullets. I found a fix that may have been found before but is new to me. I put my collet bullet puller in my powder measure stand from the bottom upside down adjusted and crimped the gas check stem to allow an easy and non frustrating gas check install before sizing. My fingers enjoyed it the most. So then I played with Plain base bullets and was able to make them accept a check. I used a piece of plastic round rod to set depth. Maybe some of you can use this.

Thanks for the idea. Swaging a gas check shank on a plain base bullet, far out!

Boolit Buddy
    If you don't mind, what brand bullet puller? I imagine there might be some differences between the manufacturers collet designs is why I'm asking. I'm just getting into gas checks and this sounds like it might save me some grief.
    No law ever stopped a criminal. If you disagree then you need to look up the word "criminal".

How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. Now how do you lose your rights? Do you see where I'm coming from . . .

I'd like to know which bullet puller myself. I bet a lee collet die could be made to work also.

Boolit Master
    Mold makers that have a good product usually get the size right and checks snap on, cheapo molds not so much.

Boolit Grand Master

Quote Originally Posted by MT Chambers View Post
    Mold makers that have a good product usually get the size right and checks snap on, cheapo molds not so much.