RepackboxSnyders JerkyReloading EverythingLoad Data
Inline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Wideners
Lee Precision Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is the 35 remington about the perfect bottle neck round for cast?

Boolit Grand Master Tripplebeards's Avatar

Is the 35 remington about the perfect bottle neck round for cast?

It seems everywhere i read here and other forums that the 35 Remington round can push cast at max jacketed velocities pretty accurately. Every other bottle neck round seems most here stay at velocities similar to max 35 Remington velocities(2000/2200). Maybe its just me but it seems like its about one of the most efficient cast rounds because so many post here its easy to get accuracy at max loadings. I would assume the twist rate has a lot to do with it as well?

USMC 77, USRA 79

hmmmmm trip.... could be, but I have No experience cuz there are NONE around here anywhere to be bought, but it is on my bucket list... especially in a marlin..

marko...
    Any technology not understood, can seem like Magic!!!

I will love the Lord with all my heart, all my soul, and all my mind.

Boolit Master

30-30 works well also and the long neck is a bonus with cast.

^ old dirty thirty gets my vote as well, although .357 mag or max in a rifle is nothing to sneeze at.

I will say this, the old codgers I knew that hunted deep woods tended to have 35 Rem, and tended to get their deer most years.

Truth is most of them will work if you put it in the right spot. And confidence helps a heck of a lot with that.
    So if your confident with your gun, load, and hunting spots it makes it a lot easier.

Boolit Buddy
    I shoot a 35 Rem and it is good. It really likes the RCBS 180 grain silhouette slug. FWIW though, I think the 32-20 and 25-20 meet your criterion even better in that they are not capable of over speeding lead projectiles and maintain superb accuracy with them.

Chris