MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxLee PrecisionWideners
Inline FabricationRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingTitan Reloading
Snyders Jerky Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What did I do Wrong?

Boolit Mold

What did I do Wrong?

Hi everyone
    I've been lurking here for a while soaking up info on casting and powder coating. Full disclosure, I'm a complete noob to casting. So last week I finally dusted off the equipment I got second hand a few years ago and casted some 158gn RNFP from a 6cavity Lee mold. The alloy came from clip on wheel weights that I melted down, cleaned and fluxed, and poured into muffin ingots per directions I found here. After a bit of trial and error, I started getting some halfway respectable projectiles. So today, I got some Eastwood Ford Light Blue hotcoat, gave them a spin in the tumbler for about 15min, popped them in the oven at 400f for 20min, took them out and dropped them in water....and it does not look good. Poor coverage, coating kinda peels off, lots of bare spots. So, two questions. Where did I go wrong, and what do I do now? Can these be salvaged, or do the go into the pot next time I melt wheel weights?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20200421_194101.jpg   20200421_194235.jpg   20200424_182445.jpg   20200424_180940.jpg   20200424_181251.jpg  

20200424_182433.jpg  

Banned
    was the tumbler clean? It looks like you contaminated the lead before powdercoating.
    did you quench after casting before powdercoating? this is a good way to contaminate the boolits
    some powders don't work well lying down, I've never tried Eastwood Ford Light Blue
    did the boolits stick to each other and the wire basket?
    did you check the oven with a thermometer to see if it was actually reaching 400°

Boolit Master

1. Did you clean the cast bullets of lube/oils before applying Powder Coati?