Titan ReloadingWidenersRotoMetals2Inline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
Repackbox Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I want to learn about casting

Boolit Mold

I want to learn about casting

Hello. I am very new to the idea of casting lead bullets. Years ago I started collecting random lead - mostly wheel weights. I have them all turned into ingots preparing for the day that I finally put on my big boy pants and actually start making bullets. I've been reloading for years, but have always purchased professional cast bullets. For economic (and fun) reasons, I would like to start casting. I am not a serious shooter - I'm a plinker by every imaginable definition. So I am more concerned with economics and safe function over "popping zits on a gnats behind" accuracy.

I have about 3.4 million questions... but I will start with these... (Backstory) The last few batches of lead that I turned into ingots seemed to not melt easily, properly, nor was it anywhere close to being enjoyable. Instead of a nice pot of liquid, I was left with what looked like silver, wet, beach sand. It did not pour into ingots well, plugged up the bottom pour spout of my pot something fierce, and was just an all-around pain in my fat, hairy, big toe. I've rid myself of the few remaining wheel weights, and I have nothing but ingots left. I think I have managed to clean out my pot and unclogged the pouring spout... but now I am afraid to try to melt it again to start making bullets for fear of more (of the same) problems.