RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingReloading EverythingInline Fabrication
Load DataWidenersSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
Repackbox Lee Precision

Thread: Not sure what this is.

Boolit Mold

Not sure what this is.

Hello,

I have been casting for about 25 years. More off than on. During that time i have always used COWW. Now that I'm out of COWW, a friend dropped off a few hundred pounds of 97% Pb 3% Sb Outside of lead, what is it. Can it be cast as is? What do i need to do to use it for 223, 458 Socom, 45/70 and so on.

Boolit Master

PB is lead and SB is antimony. Treat it like you would COWW. COWW are an estimate d average of 98%PB, 2% SB, trace Arsenic and occasionally may or may not have >1%SN.

Sent from my SM-N970U using Tapatalk
    "Speak softly and carry a big stick; you will go far."
    ~Theodore Roosevelt~

Boolit Master

Hitnmiss,
    If you add 2% tin (Sn) to that metal you'll have basic COWW alloy. It might work well as-is, but a little tin will allow better fill-out.
    "We take a thousand moments for granted thinking there will be a thousand more to come. Each day, each breath, each beat of your heart is a gift. Live with love & joy, tomorrow is not promised to anyone......"

unknown

If memory serves, about 6-7oz of tin to 20 lbs of your alloy would bring tin to about 2%.

You can buy nuggets of tin from rotometals, but I've heard of guys using old pewter (which is mostly tin). Haven't tried it though. Maybe someone who has will chime in with their experience.
    David
    Knightflyer - Pesky newbie with a 30-30 & a zillion questions
    "And what I want to say is this, that I'm the King's man; and if this Parliament of Owls is any sort of plot against the King, I'm having nothing to do with it." - C.S. Lewis, The Silver Chair
    Shalom y'all!

Banned
    I will third the add some tin (or pewter which is almost pure tin) The antimony/tin combo is magic stuff for bullet casting alloy.

Boolit Master