Reloading EverythingInline FabricationRepackboxLoad Data
Titan ReloadingSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2Wideners
MidSouth Shooters Supply Lee Precision

Thread: Powder coating rifle boolits

Boolit Master

Powder coating rifle boolits

I'm just getting into powder coating and I'm wondering how to
    coat rifle boolits with the shake and bake method. Obviously they won't stand up like pistol boolits.
    It's all chicken, even the beak!

Why not just look at the threads on powder coating?

Boolit Master

he means they wont stand on end for baking I believe. you can get silicon trays that they will sit in or you can use a mesh that is held up from the pan about 1/4 or 1/2 inch, you stand the boolits up in each hole in the mesh. you can also drill holes in a metal block, line it with nonstick foil and put the boolits nose down in the holes. there are lots of ways to do this and the search feature in the upper right corner can be your friend.
    if you are ever being chased by a taxidermist, don't play dead

Boolit Master

'Bout a hundred miles from the Gulf of Mexico
    Plus one for the mesh!!!!! It works well. Just my opinion. Good luck.
    I firmly believe that you should only get treated by how you act, not by who or what you are!!

Boolit Master
    Shuz, I use a piece of 1/2 in hardware cloth. If not secured and it moves they will ALL tip over. I use small bbq trays with short sides that fit my convection oven pretty well and cut the hardware cloth to fit inside the sides (keeps them from sliding around) and bend a 'leg' down to stand up it up high enough to hold the boolits. With a sided tray you could also just bend it over the edge if right height.

When I switched to PCd boolits (weighed) for military bolt matches the rare, unexplained flyers pretty much went away. I also shoot PC in 300 BO, 7.62x40 WT (12 twist), 300 Ham'r (15 twist), 7.62x39, all in AR15 and SKS with good results. And other stuff. Gotta love it! I use mostly Smoke's clear.