Load DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationRepackbox
Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionRotoMetals2Wideners
Reloading Everything Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good starting Caliber for casting ?

Good starting Caliber for casting ?

Hey everyone, I've been reloading for about 4 years now and I'm getting into casting now ,originally for making fishing weights but making bullets is my next goal. My question is though what is a good starting caliber for somone to start casting for ? Was considering 7.62x39 but not sure.

Boolit Master
    If you have one, I would suggest .38 special, or another rimmed pistol cartridge. Keeping it simple, you can start with a basic SWC or RN bullet of 125-150 grains and Lee tumble lube. You might not even have to size them. That way you will learn the basics of handling the mold and loading cast bullets without having to deal with higher velocity lubes, gas checks, etc. If you're already reloading you probably already have appropriate powders and dies.

I started bullet casting and loading them about 50 years ago, using a borrowed 358477 SC mold and sizing equipment. It was a good experience; I too at the time had been loading jacketed rifle ammo a couple of years and it was a smooth transition for me. Good luck.

Boolit Grand Master

There really isn't a bad caliber to start casting for. The only reason 7.62x39 might not be easy is because of the guns themselves, with many variations of them. Something more standardized like a 308 Winchester, or a pistol like 45 acp is going to be more forgiving in that sense.

Boolit Master

Start with rimmed handgun cartridges, then semi-auto pistol cartridges, then move to rifle cartridges for bolt/pump/lever rifles, then move to semi-auto rifles last, if at all.

Ok well I don't a rimmed hand gun I . I have a sub p320 in 9mm that I shoot alot as far as pistols but if it's a rimmed cartridge what about a 7.26x54r ?

Boolit Master