Inline FabricationReloading EverythingRepackboxLoad Data
WidenersLee PrecisionSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
Titan Reloading RotoMetals2

Thread: Casting 6.5 mm boolits

Boolit Master

Casting 6.5 mm boolits

I've been casting my own for 4 decades but not in this small in caliber. I cast 30,9mm,357,10mm,40 cal rifle,44,45 pistol and 45 rifle so this is a new adventure. Going to use them in a 6.5 grendel.
    Mold is a NOE 127Gr gc. Wish me luck.

Banned

Good luck.......I cast for my 6.5 x 55 Swede!

Boolit Grand Master

Not any harder to cast 6.5 bullets than any other caliber. Prep the mould correctly, use a good ternary alloy with a balanced % of antimony and tin, flux well and keep the alloy in the right temp range, use a good casting technique and "luck" will have nothing to do with it. That is a good 6.5 mould BTW.
    Larry Gibson

“Deficient observation is merely a form of ignorance and responsible for the many morbid notions and foolish ideas prevailing.”
    ― Nikola Tesla

Boolit Master
    Well out of the lot of 75 I cast only 5 were usable by my standards,lot of wrinkles in the nose area. Going to try increasingly the alloy temp hopefully the increased alloy temp will transfer to the mold giving me a better looking bullet. Sized to .266 didn't put on a gas check as this was more of a practice run than anything else.
    Last edited by DocSavage; 04-02-2020 at 08:12 AM.

Boolit Master

Do you use a hot plate to heat your mold? I found out with
    using a hot plate to keep your mold on does wonders with
    keeping your bullets coming out perfect from the mold.
    That and jacking up the temp of the melt.
    Denny

Boolit Master
    I set my blocks on top of the pot to preheat plus I'm not used to casting bullets that are this small .266 up to this point 9 mm was the smallest I've cast.

Boolit Master