Load DataRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingLee Precision
WidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxTitan Reloading
Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gaschecks needed for PC bullets?

Gaschecks needed for PC bullets?

I have never used a GC bullet before. I'm thinking about a lead bullet with my 450 bushmaster and would like to use the Lee 454-300-rf. I would be powder coating them so I'm curious if I would need the GC?

I was pushing 230hp at 2100-2200 so I imagine the 300gr would be under 2000pfs. The PC powder is from smoke so I know it's good stuff I've only ever run it to. 1200-1300 in my 9mm though so just wanted to check and see what you guys say.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk

Boolit Buddy
    IMO, a gas check can only help with accuracy if the bullet is made for gas checks. The base of the bullet is so important to accuracy (of course if it falls off, then that is thrown out).

I am not familiar with this bullet but if it’s made for gas checks, I tend to use them regardless of PC or not. I have toyed with plain base gas checks and haven’t noticed a difference in accuracy.

I have pushed some PC bullets super hard in 30-30 (with gas check) and 454 casull (with and without gas check) without any notice of leading. BUT you should probably have a reason to push it hard because if it’s for target practice, then IMO, the velocity doesn’t buy you anything. Settle on accuracy over speed.

Good luck with your endeavors.

I'm sorry I didn't specify, the mold in question is GC. The velocity would be on the lower side for 450 bushmaster, but even still that would be faster than most all handgun velocities and only slightly slower than a lot of rifle calibers. It would be for target only until I could successfully test it for expansion for hunting.

I'm not saying I can't put a gas check on either, just curious if it would still be necessary with the powder coat.

EDIT: this is also an AR if that makes any difference.

Banned