Inline FabricationRepackboxReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters Supply
RotoMetals2Load DataSnyders JerkyTitan Reloading
Lee Precision Wideners

Thread: Losing a good friend, the hard way

Boolit Master

Losing a good friend, the hard way

During this past week, I learned of the passing of a good friend. We worked together for quite a few years in a tough job, Law enforcement. When I met Tony, I was a veteran Officer, and he was a Veteran who became an Officer who served during Desert Storm. He was Navy and like every Seaman, he had great stories of shipboard antics.

We only talked about his service a few times and he was proud to share. He was more proud to share of his young family, a topic we both shared more freely together. At the time I worked with Tony, I had transferred to the small town where we worked, he was born here, schooled here, enlisted here, came home to his high school sweetheart, and enjoyed being in rural Northern California. He enjoyed the beauty of the mountains, rivers, streams, and the ocean, all minutes away.

Along the way, I promoted to Sergeant and he was one of my 'go to guys.' Actually, the groups men and women I worked with were all top shelf, hard workers, and I did my best to prepare them for the times when things might get a little 'rough.' I only had a couple of folks who tried to 'do the bare minimum to get by.' Although I did not serve, I worked along side many who did who taught me their message of 'you fight for the guy next to you.' It didn't matter which branch, they all said the same thing. Taking from that, I was able to use that to help motivate the lower level performers to step up with pride. Tony was one of those guys who helped motivate.