Reloading EverythingSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2Inline Fabrication
WidenersRepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee Precision
Load Data Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Saving bullets

Boolit Buddy

Saving bullets

I'm still learning about the powder coating game. When I first started, I used HF red, and an old toaster oven. I verified the temp of the oven with a glass oven thermometer. Made lots of pc bullets...lots. Went to range, shot several guns with different loads, and was horrified to find pc coating my bores. It is a PIA to get out, believe me. WAY WORSE than any leading problems I have ever had.
    I found out that while my toaster oven would reach over 400 degrees, it would not maintain 400 with a load of bullets. The bullets have a rough finish (which I thought was normal or ok), and passed the smash test, which I now realize isn't a great test. When firing in barrel, the pc gets left in the bore, and cooked on by subsequent firing.

Now the big question...I have replaced the toaster oven and verified it will maintain the temp over 400 with a full load of bullets. I have "re baked" some of the bullets, making sure the temp stayed over 400. The appearance of the powder coating did not change, it is still a bit rough. Of course, the smash test passes.
    I am a bit gun shy about trying them again, but I have hundreds of bullets of several different types.
    Do you think re-baking them will save the bullets, or should I cut my losses, toss them, and start over?

Boolit Master

Doubt that baking your boolits a second time made much improvement. Problem is once the powder has been heated to its flow point and then allowed to cool, it's as cured as it's gonna get. You might try a few of the 'reheated' to see if you're still getting fouling but be prepared to do some more bore cleaning.