Load DataWidenersTitan ReloadingRepackbox
Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters Supply
Inline Fabrication Snyders Jerky

Thread: powder coating fishing jigs.

Boolit Master

powder coating fishing jigs.

made a bunch of fishing jigs for my brother.

it's NOT like cast boolits!....gotta use pure lead or the casting won't fill out.

what temperature do i need to set my convection oven to so that i don't melt the lead on the jigs?

Boolit Master

About 350* for ten minutes,be sure to clean out your eyes before heating or you'll have to drill them out. Which leave you a sharp edges. Don't ask how I know!!!!!. I've been PCing jigs and jigheads for over 25 years.. Let me know how yours turned out.
    Btw hang your jig heads by the hook on a oven rack so the don't stick to a pan.
    I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left.
    Paralyzed Veterans of America

Looking for a Hensly &Gibbs #258 any thing from a two cavity to a 10cavityI found a new one from a member here

Boolit Master

I smoke the cavities of my larger molds to help get a good fill out also let your lead pot run a little hotter for casting jigs, ladle pour for spinnerbaits and buzzbaits.
    Last edited by SSGOldfart; 01-15-2020 at 03:05 PM. Reason: Window's spell check thingy messed up the post
    I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left.
    Paralyzed Veterans of America

Looking for a Hensly &Gibbs #258 any thing from a two cavity to a 10cavityI found a new one from a member here

Boolit Master
    I make mine out of whatever scrap lead I happen to have laying around. Hang them from the rack and set the time/temp just like I am pc'ing boolits. I'm doing small jigs, 1/2 oz with 4/0 +/- hooks so they don't contact the bottom of the oven. DO punch the eyes out first!

I don't bake my small jigs for that long. Usually 5 min is enough. Small are 1/8 oz or smaller
    Steve,

Life Member NRA
    Colorado Rifle Club member